Standing Committee on Science

The Standing Committee on Science is a standing committee of Governing Council. The Standing Committee on Science is composed of a group of visionary leaders in health research that identifies and advises Governing Council on opportunities and risks in consideration of CIHR’s strategic directions; and helps inform new horizons in health research through analysis of global and national trends in the health research ecosystem.


Paul Allison
Faculty of Dental Medicine & Oral Health Sciences
McGill University

Sylvain Baillet
Professor, Neurology & Neurosurgery, Computer Science, and Biomedical Engineering at the Montreal Neurological Institute & Hospital, McGill University

Christine Chambers
Professor in the departments of Psychology & Neuroscience and Pediatrics at Dalhousie University

Cheryl Barnabe
Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Community Health Science
University of Calgary

Balram Bhargava
Professor of Cardiology at the All-India Institute of Medical Sciences
Executive Director for Stanford India Biodesign Centre, School of International Biodesign (SiB)

Claudia Paarmann-Chien
Neuroscientist and magnetic resonance imaging Team Lead
Charité- University Hospital Berlin

Christine Fahim
Scientist and Director, TIES
St. Michael’s Hospital
Assistant Professor, Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation
University of Toronto
Associate, Bloomberg School of Public Health
Johns Hopkins University

Dermot Kelleher
Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Vice-President, Health
University of British Columbia

John-Arne Røttingen
Chief Executive Officer of Wellcome, UK

Rulan S. Parekh
Vice President, Academics, Women’s College Hospital
Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, University of Toronto

Norman Rosenblum
Professor of pediatrics, physiology, and laboratory medicine and pathobiology, University of Toronto
Pediatric nephrologist and senior scientist, The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)

Tammy J. Clifford
Vice-President Research - Learning Health Systems

Acting President (effective April 8, 2024)

Ex-officio, non-voting member

Lisa Saksida
Co-Scientific Director of Western’s Canada First Research Excellence Fund program in cognitive neuroscience

Mahadeo Sukhai
Vice-President Research & International Affairs and Chief Accessibility Officer for the CNIB (Canadian National Institute for the Blind)

Date modified: